New members join Iron Mining Association of MN board

Posted December 7, 2018

New members join Iron Mining Association of MN board

The Iron Mining Association of Minnesota (IMA) – the trade association that represents Minnesota’s iron mines and the companies that supply goods and services to the iron mines – announced the results of its annual board elections this month at its 26th annual meeting and dinner.

Incoming board members include: Deb DeLuca of the Duluth Seaway Port Authority and Frank Frederickson of Minnesota Power, both of Duluth.

Also new to the 2019 board are Producer Directors from ArcelorMittal Minorca Mine in Virginia, Robb Peterson and Steve Mekkes.

They join the following board members: Patrick Bloom (Cleveland-Cliffs), Sandy Karnowski (Cleveland-Cliffs), Ed LaTendresse (Hibbing Taconite), Paul Carlson (Northshore Mining), Chad Asgaard (United Taconite), David Bednarz (Steel Dynamics), Mark Lorenz (Steel Dynamics), Chrissy Bartovich (U.S. Steel), Tim Kalisch (U.S. Steel), Larry Sutherland (U.S. Steel),  Jon Anderson (RMS), Marci Knight (American Bank of the North), Jeff Lipovetz (TKDA), Art Lind (Lind Industrial Supply), Brian Maki (Lakehead Constructors),  Bruce Mars (Conveyor Belt Services), Matt Thibodeau (Thibodeau, Johnson & Feriancek), and John Ward (Komatsu).

Ed LaTendresse of Hibbing Taconite will return as board chair in 2019.

The IMA is led by President Kelsey Johnson.

“I’m excited to continue working with this group of regional leaders, who represent different facets of the largest industry in northeast Minnesota,” Johnson said.